Monday; malaise or motivation?

You pounded the alarm clock into submission only hours ago, yet it already feels like Monday should be nearly done.  One glance at the clock knocks the wind out of you……  It’s not even 8:30.

For me, some Mondays move by like a with the cheek-flapping speed of a glacier.  The day drags on like a much more painful and humorless version of Bill Murray’s experience in Groundhog Day.  *cue ‘I got you Babe’ by Sonny and Cher*

Other Monday’s feel like a reprieve from task/duty/work-filled weekend that didn’t include a moment of indulgence.

My Mondays tend to be split down the middle.  The secret for surviving a Monday Malaise, or maintaining a Monday’s motivation, at least for me, is starting it right.  No, I’m not talking about breakfast.  I’m not even talking about my choice of liquid jumper cables.  I’m talking about something to make me laugh.  I don’t need anything heavy, weighty, or even mildly meaningful.  Just give me something that will get me laughing my ass off.  After that, the rest just falls into place.

What is your typical Monday like?  How do you cope with it?  Are you part of a #coffeebandits group that sucks down enough of that aromatic perfection to consume half of Brazil’s 15% of the global supply, or do you just dive in and get it done?

How do you deal with your Monday malaise/motivation?

6 comments on “Monday; malaise or motivation?

  1. […] yesterday’s comments were stellar gems of beauty! Tons of Cowbell goes out to Stacy Green, Zack Kullis and Gloria Richard for the most side-splitting contributions. Go look, […]

    • zkullis says:

      Well Jenny, it was a GREAT post! I was thinking about your post and how it made me feel when I made the comment about laughing my ass off on Monday. Thanks for checking this out!

  2. Hopped over to check out your site after our ping-pong game in Jenny’s comments, Zack. Hate to pimp another site on yours, but I did find a creative way to deal with the residue from your Monday morning java jolt.

    • zkullis says:

      Thanks for the visit Gloria! As you can see, I had to shuffle through the mountains of replies to find your comment! 😉 Dear Gloria, please don’t feel bad about pimping another site. I can’t wait to check it out!

      Zack…

  3. Good morning, Zack. Thanks for the follow and back atcha’. With your snark-riddled voice, you’ll soon have those mountains of replies to sort through.

    Off to get more java. But, I won’t be saving the grounds today. That project reached its logical conclusion — dumb idea!

    • zkullis says:

      Good afternoon Gloria! No worries! Snark is where it’s at.

      With all of those spent java grounds, you would think we could find a way to use them… Maybe a car that uses grounds for fuel? Imagine the smell of the exhaust!

Leave a Reply

