9/11 A memory and a promise

September 11, 2001.

Planes, death, a nation provoked.

9/11 evokes strong emotions for many, for a number of reasons.  It changed the world.  For me, the memory is vivid.  I remember the shock and violation of the attack.  The bitter realization that we could be hit.  Hard.  I recall the bravery of those who entered the burning buildings, too many of whom would not go home to the warm embrace of friends and family.  I remember passengers that took back their destiny, thus saving unknown lives by giving theirs.  I also remember a nation coming together, forgetting differences and forging the steel of resolve.

I have two quotes I would like to post:   “For what avail the plough or sail, or land or life, if freedom fail?”, by Ralph Waldo Emerson, and “No one is free when others are oppressed.”, by (as far as I know) an unknown author.

For me, 9/11 is both a memory, and the genesis of a promise.  I promised to remember the cost of freedom and support the cause of liberty.

It’s been 11 years.  Where are you now?  Does it still impact you, and if so, how?

2 comments on “9/11 A memory and a promise

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    I love this post, Zack! And your blog looks great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

